top of page

Dr.Veeranna C. Charantimath MLA
B.V.V.Sangha, Bagalkot


About our Sangha

     Institutional Distinctiveness Shri Basaveshwara Veerashaiva Vidyavardhaka Sangha, a premier institute which has completed more than hundred years of its service, was founded by His Holiness Gurubasava Mahaswamiji of Biluru in 1906 for the noble cause of disseminating knowledge in this part of Karnataka. It started its educational venture with a Sanskrit Pathashala and has grown over the years into a citadel of education with a network of 115 institutions. Basaveshwar Science College is the only independent science college in Bagalkot Vijayapura districts and is affiliated to Rani Channamma University, Belagavi, and was established in 1945. The vision of institution is to strive for excellence in imparting quality education with a scientific attitude to cater to the needs of nearby population both urban and rural. The college imparts quality education in science at par with the best available in this region. The commitment and the dedication of management and faculty members enabled the college to thrive well over the years. We would like to share the performance of the institution in last 5 years to fulfil our vision statement and thrust area. Our institute has started traditional UG courses like B.Sc. in all streams. By considering future demands in the field of software industry, we are the first to introduce B.Sc. Computer Science and BCA during college. Later on, the Sangha felt the necessity of post-graduation to promote higher education in Science started M.Sc- Physics,Chemistry, Mathematics Computer Science and now the college has maximum number of PGs in its ambit. Our college is experiencing a phenomenal growth in terms of student strength, infrastructure and need based new courses. The college has contributed to the society in the form of noted administrators, policy makers, Technocrats, Legal luminaries and distinguished scholars. The philosophy of the college as engraved in its emblem “Kayakave Kailasa” which translates to “Work is Worship”. The college was the first institution to achieve the prestigious “College with Potential for Excellence” (CPE)-II award in the entire North Karnataka region. Teachers need training in order to improve service delivery in terms of self-expression. Looking into this college conducted refresher course for BVVS College teachers in Physics Chemistry. The monitoring and evaluation of the institutional processes require a carefully structured system of internal and external review, college organized External Academic and Administrative Audit (AAA).The College has Research Centre and it is the only sanctioned Research Centre by affiliated University. It was inaugurated by Bharat Ratna Dr. CNR RAO and is named as Bharat Ratna CNR RAO Research Centre. At present, the Research Centre is recognized for research in Physics. The institution applied for Recognition in Chemistry. Research Centre has Advisory committee consisting of experienced researchers. Prof. B G Mulimani Professor of Physics, Former Vice Chancellor of Gulbarga University, Kalburgi, is a Chairman of Advisory Committee. The College invited eminent scientists like Prof. Raja Ramanna, Prof. U.R. Rao, Prof, Kiran kumar from ISRO Bangalore, Recently college also invited Prakash Amte visited our college and interacted with Staff & students.

Shri. Mahesh N. Athani

Hon Secretary

B.V.V. Sangha, Bagalkot

Shri. Gurubasava S. Sulibhavi

Chairman, College Governing Council

B. V. V. Sangha, Bagalkot

About our College

       The Basaveshwar Science College has its origin in Basaveshwar College bagalkot was the first college established before independence in 1944 by B. V. V Sangha, with a social commitment to impart quality higher education. In the year 1945 Science section was started, and was bifurcated from Basaveshwar College in 1967 as an independent Science College with a separate building inaugurated by his Excellency Sri V.V.Giri then Vice-President of India. Prof.B.C.Akki continued the path of excellence as its Principal.

         The Basaveshwar Science College is recognised by UGC under 2 (f) and 12 (B) of the UGC Act of 1956 and affiliated to Rani Channamma University, Belagavi. Our college is recognised as a College with Potential for Excellence phase –II by UGC. It is the only independent Science college in Bagalkot and Bijapur districts, it is catering to the needs of Higher education in pure science, applied sciences and information technology in this economically and educationally backward area of Karnataka.The college is Re-accredited at B grade by NAAC in Aug.2019.

At present the college offers 13 UG programmes, 03 PG programmes (self financed), Computer Science, Maths, Physics and Chemistry. The college has developed good academic infrastructure and has explored with time the technology benefits in learning-teaching process. The vision, mission and objectives of the institution are in tune with changing scenario of higher education in the country. Dr. C.V. Raman and Dr. Rajaramanna, Bharat RatnaProf. C N R Rao, ISRO director, Prof.KiranKumar, former ISRO director Prof. U R Rao, SalumaradaTimmakka, Dr. Prakash Amte, Dr Sudarshan are amongst hundreds of distinguished personalities who have visited our college.

The college is proud to boost of producing many University ranks, University Blues, graduates and post graduates with academic excellence.

The college has contributed to the society in the form of noted administrators, policy makers, Technocrats, Legal luminaries and distinguished scholars.


Dr. S. M. Gaonkar M. Sc, Ph.D


Mob: 9448876176

bottom of page